Holiday Safe Driving Tips: Don’t drink and Drive

Holiday Safe Driving Tips: Don’t drink and Drive

Holiday Safe Driving Tips: Don’t drink and Drive

A driver under the influence of alcohol will stare straight ahead. The ability to scan is diminished and he will focus on the lights in front of him.

If you suspect a person behind you is under influence because they are swerving or losing control of the car, you need to turn right and try to get their license number as they pass. Do not just pull over as they may follow your tail lights and collide with you. Turn out of the way and if you can get the license number of the drunk driver, call the police. You may be saving his life, or someone else. Better a DUI, than a DOA.

BAC limits
Under 21===.02
Over 21==.08
Commercial (CDL) .04
** BAC = blood alcohol content

How many drinks does it take?
One drink is considered:
1 Beer, 6 Ounce Glass of Wine, 1 Shot or 1 Ounce of Hard Liqueur

The chart below will give you an idea of how  your BAC will register after  you have had a certain amount of drinks in one hour of time.  This BAC measurements are measuring BAC with However, this chart does not consider other factors besides weight that affect you level of drunkenness. Women do not process alcohol at the same rate as men, making them consume to less in order to reach the same level of toxicity

Drink and Weight Table

Weight Number of Drinks
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
100 0.03
2
0.06
5
0.09
7
0.012
9
0.016
2
0.019
4
0.022
6
0.025
8
0.029
1
120 0.02
7
0.05
4
0.08
1
0.010
8
0.013
5
0.016
1
0.018
8
0.021
5
0.024
2
140 0.02
3
0.04
6
0.06
9
0.09
2
0.011
5
0.013
8
0.016
1
0.018
4
0.020
7
160 0.02
0
0.04
0
0.06
0
0.08
0
0.010
1
0.012
1
0.014
1
0.016
1
0.018
1
180 0.01
8
0.03
6
0.05
4
0.07
2
0.09
0
0.010
8
0.012
6
0.014
4
0.016
2
200 0.01
6
0.02
2
0.04
8
0.06
4
0.08
0
0.09
7
0.011
3
0.012
9
0.014
5
220 0.01
5
0.02
9
0.04
4
0.05
8
0.07
3
0.08
8
0.010
2
0.011
7
0.013
1
240 0.01
4
0.02
7
0.04
0
0.05
3
0.06
7
0.08
1
0.09
5
0.010
8
0.012
1

 

Virginia
Alcohol-Related Crashes by crash type 
Calendar years 2004-2011

TYPE                
Fatal 304 293 336 346 319 290 249 216
Injury 5,486 5,351 5,357 5,125 5,043 4,464 3,922 3,873
                 
Year 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 20010 20011
Total 7,490 5,655 5,693 5,471 5,362 4,754 4,171 4,089

 

(DMV: VHSO)

Virginia is very serious about getting drinkers off the road. The penalties for drinking and driving will cost you for years! If you are convicted of a DUI first offense, if the judge allows you to have a restricted license, the state will require you to have an ignition interlock device attached to your steering column that will require you to blow into the device and your BAC before your car will start and while you are driving.  You will be responsible for paying for the installation and rental on this device for as long as the court declares you must use it. If convicted again, every vehicle that you use will be required to obtain this device.
First offense violation of ignition interlock device will result in your revocation of your driving license for one year.

Conviction for DUI first offense

Mandatory, minimum $250 fine
Driver’s license revocation for one year

Conviction for DUI second offense

Mandatory, minimum $500 fine
Driver’s license revocation for three years
Possible jail term up to one year

Conviction for DUI second offense within ten years of prior offense carries the following additional penalty
Mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term

Under age 21

Absolutely no tolerance for any alcohol: any open container of alcohol in the car where a minor is driving will result in a DUI for the driver!

A fine ranging from $500 to $2,500.
Up to 12 months in jail.
Mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months but not more than one year

 

Implied Consent law

When you sign your driver’s license you are saying you will  submit to a blood alcohol content test if asked.  If you are pulled over by an officer and asked to take a test and you refuse administrative penalties will go into effect.

  1st Offense 2d offense 3rd Offense
Refusal to take test 1-year license suspension 3-year license suspension (if prior refusal occurred within 10 years) 3 year license suspension (if prior refusals occurred within 10 years)

Also, Virginians need to be aware that a DUI while boating or hunting will be automatically transferred to your driver’s license

To consider

  • What is your responsibility in all this?
  • Can you really consider yourself a responsible citizen and adult if you would risk other’s lives for you own indulgence?
  • What is the solution to this horrible problem in America?
  • What should the penalties be?
  • What can you do to help?
  • How can you prevent your family and friends from making a poor decision?
  • Have you ever made a decision that was a tragic mistake and you could not take back?